St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church
St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church. Presbyterian Church Jarvis Street, North and south elevations, additional drawing, west elevation, 10 May 1877, Langley & Burke. Henry Langley Papers, accession #86.
Click on the image above to see a magnified view of the plan.
St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church at Jarvis and Carlton Streets, was built with a plain but attractive façade by Langley & Burke in 1877-78. The Reverend Dr. G.M. Milligan, the church’s first minister initiated its construction. Immediately, membership grew steadily and remained vibrant for years. However, the 1940s witnessed a decline in numbers, which led St. Andrew’s to join with Westminster-Central United Church in 1950. In 1951, the church at Jarvis and Carlton Streets was sold to Latvian and Estonian Lutherans, arriving in Toronto as refugees after a Soviet invasion of their homeland during World War Two. Today, St. Andrew’s is known as St. Andrew’s Evangelical Lutheran Church and it remains home to two congregations, the Lutherans from Estonia and Latvia.
»Scroll down to view a photograph of the church.
St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church, photograph by Alexander W. Galbraith after 1900. City of Toronto Archives, Fonds 1568, Item 463
Click on the link below to continue on to Elm Street Methodist Church. Or if you prefer, click on the "Contents" menu button at the top left of this webpage to explore this site.
» Elm Street Methodist Church